Law 37 (Obstructing the field)
1. Out Obstructing the field
Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if he wilfully obstructs or distracts
the opposing side by word or action. It shall be regarded as obstruction if either
batsman wilfully, and without the consent of the fielding side, strikes the ball
with his bat or person, other than a hand not holding the bat, after the ball
has touched a fielder. See 4 below.
2. Accidental obstruction
It is for either umpire to decide whether any obstruction or distraction is
wilful or not. He shall consult the other umpire if he has any doubt.
3. Obstructing a ball from being caught
The striker is out should wilful obstruction or distraction by either batsman
prevent a catch being made.
This shall apply even though the striker causes the obstruction in lawfully
guarding his wicket under the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck
more than once).
4. Returning the ball to a member of the fielding side
Either batsman is out under this Law if, without the consent of the fielding
side and while the ball is in play, he uses his bat or person to return the
ball to any member of that side.
5. Runs scored
If a batsman is dismissed under this Law, runs completed by the batsmen before
the offence shall be scored, together with the penalty for a No ball or a
Wide, if applicable. Other penalties that may be awarded to either side when
the ball is dead shall also stand. See Law 42.17(b) (Penalty runs).
If, however, the obstruction prevents a catch from being made, runs completed
by the batsmen before the offence shall not be scored, but other penalties
that may be awarded to either side when the ball is dead shall stand. See Law
42.17(b) (Penalty runs).
6. Bowler does not get credit
The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.