Law 35 (Hit wicket)
1. Out Hit wicket
(a) The striker is out Hit wicket if, after the bowler has entered his delivery
stride and while the ball is in play, his wicket is put down either by the striker's
bat or by his person as described in Law 28.1(a)(ii) and (iii) (Wicket put down)
either (i) in the course of any action taken by him in preparing to receive or
in receiving a delivery,
or (ii) in setting off for his first run immediately after playing, or playing
at, the ball,
or (iii) if he makes no attempt to play the ball, in setting off for his first
run, providing that in the opinion of the umpire this is immediately after he
has had the opportunity of playing the ball,
or (iv) in lawfully making a second or further stroke for the purpose of guarding
his wicket within the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than
(b) If the striker puts his wicket down in any of the ways
described in Law 28.1(a)(ii) and (iii) (Wicket put down) before
the bowler has entered his delivery stride, either umpire shall
call and signal Dead ball.
2. Not out Hit wicket
Notwithstanding 1 above, the batsman is not out under this Law should his wicket
be put down in any of the ways referred to in 1 above if
(a) it occurs after he has completed any action in receiving the delivery,
other than in 1(a)(ii), (iii) or (iv) above.
(b) it occurs when he is in the act of running, other than
in setting off immediately for his first run.
(c) it occurs when he is trying to avoid being run out or
(d) it occurs while he is trying to avoid a throw-in at any
(e) the bowler, after entering his delivery stride, does not
deliver the ball. In this case either umpire shall immediately
call and signal Dead ball. See Law 23.3 (Umpire calling and
signalling Dead ball).
(f) the delivery is a No ball.